CEDP Phase 2 Day 2 Reflection – The Learning Cafe

Today, I found something about this program that actually left me frustrated. Rather than praise the provocative and participatory sessions on Large Classrooms and the Role of the Coordinator, I’m going for a bit of a deeper dive today.

Really, I had no idea what the Learning Cafe would be like, but when I hear the word cafe, this image above is what comes to mind. Peaceful, tidy, and with a wide variety of pastries to stuff my face with. (Perhaps the CEDP cake analogy had something to do with it.)

I wanted to sink my teeth into the topics – to find new flavours for my classes that learners from any style might prefer – to sprinkle some small group learning activities into my larger lectures – to gather other participants’ crumbs of expertise on making multiple choice questions – and to serve it all up with unique uses for the textbook and homework assignments.

I left with an empty stomach and wanted so much more!

Twenty minutes per topic just wasn’t enough! My coffee was fast-food quality: too hot and rushed. I wanted to savour the moment, but was ushered out of the way for the next customers pushing through the door. I wanted to chat with fellow patrons and listen to all the great work they do in their own classrooms. I wanted to learn from them on a much deeper level.

No “drinking from the fire hydrant” for this girl. I’ll have to try to connect with them in another forum. Maybe we’ll continue the discussion online?

This entry was posted in Conference, Reflection and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

