My Big Ideas from Connect 2014

This year I returned to Connect 2014: Canada’s Learning and Technology Conference in Niagara Falls, Ontario (if you would like to join us next year). It seems that there were lots of common threads discussed in the sessions I attended, so I thought I would share some of the highlights (copied from Evernote on my smartphone – last link, I promise.)

Thoughts from the conference, no particular order:

  • Instead of trying to be a facilitator, I should practice being an activator!
  • You don’t have to know everything to be a good leader.
  • You are allowed to make mistakes, we will learn together, there are no judges.
  • If the student doesn’t directly benefit rom it – don’t do it!
  • There should be transparency in growth. Don’t be afraid to share your progress, not just the final product.
  • Drawing helps to encode memories, but every brain is different. There is no wrong way to remember!
  • Take more time to review and summarize, but have the students do it too.
This entry was posted in Conference, Connect, Reflection, Tool and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

